The Catholic Church recognizes 7 sacraments:

  1. Baptism
  2. Reconciliation
  3. Eucharist
  4. Confirmation
  5. Marriage
  6. Holy Orders
  7. Anointing of the Sick

By active participation in the sacraments, Catholics strengthen their unity with the Church, the Body of Christ. 

The Church Teaches: There are seven sacraments. They were instituted by Christ and given to the Church to administer. They are necessary for salvation. The sacraments are the vehicles of grace which they convey. They are validly administered by the carrying out of the sign with the proper intention. Not all are equally qualified to administer all the sacraments. The validity of the sacrament is independent of the worthiness of the minister. Three sacraments imprint an indelible character.

For more information about the Sacraments and their importance in the Catholic Church, please refer to the Catechism of the Catholic Church web site.